Sprout AI vs Quicken Simplifi

Sprout AI vs Quicken Simplifi: which money app fits you?

Quicken Simplifi is a lower-priced planner with a Spending Plan, projected cash flow, savings goals, and investment tracking for the US and Canada. Sprout is a read-only AI you ask about your spending, cash flow, and subscriptions, with a native Mac app and USD and CAD kept apart.

The verdict

Choose Quicken Simplifi if price and planning tools come first: its first-year web offer is low, and it adds a Spending Plan, projected cash flow, and investment tracking. Choose Sprout if you want plain-English answers with the accounts and dates shown, a native Mac app, Claude access, or US and Canadian accounts together without picking one currency.

Sprout AI and Quicken Simplifi, side by side. Competitor details from public sources checked 2026-10-13.
What mattersSprout AIQuicken Simplifi
Price (as of October 2026)US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week; CA$129.99 per year in CanadaFrom $3.99 per month billed annually on quicken.com (first-year offer for orders by November 6, 2026); App Store: $84.99 per year or $9.99 per month
Free trial3 days for eligible Apple accounts on iPhoneNo free trial; 30-day money-back guarantee on quicken.com purchases
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Mac, and the webThe web, iPhone, iPad, and Android
Native Mac appYes, on the Mac App StoreNo; Simplifi runs on the web and mobile, and its App Store listing doesn't include Mac
Canadian bank supportYes; US and Canadian accounts together, each kept in its own currencyYes, US and Canada, with one currency (USD or CAD) at a time
AI chat over your own dataYes, chat-first, with follow-up questions, charts, and tablesQuicken AI Chat for Basic subscribers; Business & Personal subscribers can turn on Early Access
Answers show accounts and datesYes, every answer names the accounts and date range behind itNot stated
Budgeting and investing scopeSpending, cash flow, period comparisons, subscriptions, and unusual charges; no investingSpending Plan, projected cash flow, savings goals, investment tracking, reports, and a retirement planner
Subscription trackingDetects recurring charges with estimated next dates, annual cost, and price changesA view of all your subscriptions
Money movement and bill payNone. Read-only, with no bill pay or transfersNo bill payment service; Quicken AI can create goals, transactions, and rules in Simplifi when you ask
Claude and ChatGPTClaude plugin and remote MCP server today; ChatGPT app in review with OpenAINot stated
Sample data before connectingYes, explore fictional sample data firstNot stated

Choose Sprout AI if

  • You hold US and Canadian accounts and want both in one place, each in its own currency.
  • You want a native Mac app from the Mac App Store, plus iPhone and iPad apps with widgets and a Live Activity.
  • You want every answer to show the accounts and dates it used, with exact totals calculated on Sprout's server.
  • You'd like to ask about your money from Claude, with Sprout's ChatGPT app in review.
  • You'd rather ask questions than build a plan, and you want the daily Money Minute and Wrapped to keep you checking in.
Start the free trial

Choose Quicken Simplifi if

  • You want the lower price: Quicken's first-year web offer starts at $3.99 per month billed annually, through November 6, 2026.
  • You want planning tools: a Spending Plan, projected cash flow, savings goals, and a retirement planner.
  • You track investments and want cost basis and performance in the same app.
  • You use Android, or you'd prefer a 30-day money-back guarantee to a short trial.

Planner versus answer engine

Quicken Simplifi is built around planning. Its Spending Plan works out what's left after income, bills, and savings, and it projects your cash flow forward, tracks savings goals, and shows your investments with cost basis and performance. If you like to plan the month ahead and track investments in the same place, Simplifi covers a lot of ground for its price.

Sprout is built around questions. Connect your accounts, then ask what you spent on groceries since March, what changed between August and September, or which subscriptions went up. Sprout answers with totals calculated on its server and names the accounts and dates behind every number, so you can check the work.

Price and trial as of October 2026

Simplifi is the cheaper option. On quicken.com, plans start at $3.99 per month billed annually as a first-year offer for orders placed by November 6, 2026, and renew at the then-current rate. Quicken's help center says only annual plans are sold there. On the US App Store, Simplifi lists $84.99 per year or $9.99 per month.

Sprout Plus costs US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week, and CA$129.99 per year in Canada. Simplifi has no free trial but offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on quicken.com purchases. Sprout offers a 3-day free trial for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone, and fictional sample data you can explore before connecting a bank.

Quicken AI and Sprout's chat

Both apps let you chat about your own data. Quicken AI Chat can search your transactions, give guidance based on your Simplifi data, answer general money questions, and create or update savings goals, transactions, and rules when you ask and approve. Quicken's help center says it is currently available to Basic subscribers, Business & Personal subscribers can turn on Early Access, and it isn't available in shared spaces.

Sprout's chat is read-only by design. It answers about spending, period comparisons, cash flow, recurring charges, transaction search, and unusual or possibly duplicate charges, then shows the accounts and date range it used. You can ask the same questions from Claude through Sprout's plugin or MCP server, and Sprout's ChatGPT app is in review with OpenAI.

Canada and mixed-currency households

Both apps work in Canada, but they handle currency differently. Quicken's help center says Simplifi supports US and Canadian dollars one currency at a time, and that combining US and Canadian accounts may cause balance discrepancies. That matters if you hold a US dollar account at a Canadian bank or split your life across the border.

Sprout keeps every account in its original currency. Connect a Canadian chequing account in CAD and a US credit card in USD, and Sprout reports each in its own currency instead of folding them into one converted total. Plaid connects eligible institutions in both countries. More on that in Sprout for Canada.

Mac, iPad, and everyday habits

Simplifi runs on the web, iPhone, iPad, and Android; Quicken describes it as a cloud-based app for web and mobile. Sprout has native apps for iPhone, iPad, and the Mac App Store, plus the web. On iPhone, Sprout adds Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, a Live Activity and Dynamic Island for today's spending, and Siri and Shortcuts actions.

Sprout also tries to make checking in feel light. The daily Money Minute shows yesterday's spending against your usual day, streaks keep the habit going, and Weekly and Monthly Money Wrapped recap where your money went. If you prefer reports and plans, Simplifi's prebuilt and custom reports will suit you better.

Switching from Simplifi to Sprout

Try Sprout alongside Simplifi first, then decide. Both apps can read the same accounts, so you can keep your Spending Plan running while you test whether plain-English answers suit you better. If you have US and Canadian accounts, connect both to see how Sprout keeps each currency separate.

Because Simplifi plans are annual, timing matters. Check your renewal date in your Quicken account before you decide, so you aren't charged for a year you don't plan to use. Sprout Plus renews automatically through Apple unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the period ends.

  1. Explore the sample data

    See how Sprout answers, with charts and receipts, using fictional sample data before you connect anything.

  2. Start Sprout Plus on iPhone

    Subscribe in the iPhone app. Eligible Apple accounts get a 3-day free trial, and Apple confirms your local price.

  3. Connect US and Canadian accounts together

    Link the same banks through Plaid, in both currencies if you have them. You choose which accounts Sprout can read.

  4. Recreate your monthly check in plain English

    Ask "How did my spending this month compare with last month?" and "Which recurring charges are due in the next two weeks?"

  5. Settle your Simplifi plan

    Simplifi plans are annual. Purchases made on quicken.com have a 30-day money-back window, and App Store purchases follow Apple's refund rules.

Common questions

Sprout or Quicken Simplifi? Your questions.

Is Quicken Simplifi cheaper than Sprout?

Yes. As of October 2026, Simplifi starts at $3.99 per month billed annually on quicken.com as a first-year offer, and the US App Store lists $84.99 per year. Sprout Plus costs US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week, with a 3-day free trial for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone.

Does Quicken Simplifi work in Canada?

Yes. Simplifi supports the US and Canada, with one currency, USD or CAD, at a time. Quicken notes that mixing US and Canadian accounts may cause balance discrepancies. Sprout connects eligible accounts in both countries and keeps each in its own currency.

Does Simplifi have AI chat?

Yes. Quicken AI Chat can search your transactions, offer guidance, and create goals, transactions, and rules with your approval. Quicken's help center says it is available to Basic subscribers, with Early Access for Business & Personal. Sprout's chat is read-only and shows the accounts and dates behind every answer.

Does Quicken Simplifi have a Mac app?

Not a native one. Quicken describes Simplifi as a cloud-based app for web and mobile, and its App Store listing covers iPhone and iPad. Sprout has a native app on the Mac App Store. See Sprout for Mac.

Can Sprout replace Simplifi's Spending Plan?

Not exactly. Sprout has no budget categories or spending plan to fill in. It answers budget questions from your real spending, like how this month compares with last or what your recurring charges cost per year. If you want a forward-looking plan, Simplifi is the better fit.

Is there a business version of Simplifi or Sprout?

Simplifi sells a Business & Personal plan, listed at $109.99 per year on the US App Store as of October 2026. Sprout covers personal and business accounts in one subscription: you choose which accounts each review covers, so the two stay separate. See Sprout for small business.

Try the Quicken Simplifi alternative that answers back.

Connect your accounts read-only, ask in plain English, and get the number with the receipts. 3 days free on iPhone if eligible.