Sprout AI vs Cleo

Sprout AI vs Cleo: an AI that talks money, without the lending

Cleo and Sprout AI both let you chat with an AI about your own spending. Cleo pairs that chat with cash advances, savings, and a credit-building card, while Sprout keeps to answers: read-only, with the accounts and dates behind every number.

The verdict

Choose Cleo if you are in the US and want a chatty AI coach on your phone, with voice, plus access to cash advances, savings, or a credit-builder card. Choose Sprout AI if you want the chat without the lending: read-only answers with receipts, US and Canadian banks, native iPad and Mac apps, and a Claude connector.

Sprout AI and Cleo, side by side. Competitor details from public sources checked 2026-10-13.
What mattersSprout AICleo
Price (as of October 2026)US$99.99/year or US$9.99/week. CA$129.99/year in Canada.Plus US$5.99/month, Pro US$8.99/month, Builder US$14.99/month. Some money features free.
Free trial3 days on iPhone for eligible Apple accountsNot stated on its pricing page
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Mac, webiPhone and Android
iPad and Mac appsYes, native on bothNot listed. The App Store app is for iPhone.
Canadian banksYes, eligible banks through PlaidNot offered. Cleo's site covers the US and UK.
AI chat over your own dataYes, typed chat with charts and tablesYes, a chat-first AI money coach with two-way voice
Answers show accounts and datesYes, on every answerNot stated
Cash advancesNone. Sprout offers no advances or loans.US$20 to US$250, up to US$500 on Builder. Eligibility applies; same-day transfers carry an express fee.
Savings and card productsNone. Sprout is read-only and cannot move money.High-yield savings on Pro through Thread Bank; Cleo Card on Builder through WebBank
Claude and ChatGPTClaude plugin and MCP connector live. ChatGPT app in review.Not stated
Try before connecting a bankYes, with fictional sample dataNot stated

Choose Sprout AI if

  • You want to talk to an AI about your money in an app that offers no cash advances or credit products.
  • You bank in Canada, or hold both US and Canadian accounts.
  • You want native iPad and Mac apps, not just a phone.
  • You want each answer to show the accounts and date range behind it.
  • You want a daily Money Minute, Weekly Money Wrapped, and a Spending Roast where every line quotes a real number.
Start the free trial

Choose Cleo if

  • You need a small cash advance between paychecks and qualify for one.
  • You prefer talking out loud. Cleo offers two-way voice conversations.
  • You want savings or a credit-builder card in the same app as your AI coach.
  • You want a lower monthly price. Cleo Plus is US$5.99 a month as of October 2026.

The core difference

Cleo and Sprout both put chat at the center. You talk to an AI about your own spending and it answers from your bank data. Cleo calls itself an AI money coach and adds real-time, two-way voice. Sprout is typed chat with charts and tables, and every answer names the accounts and dates it used, so you can check it.

The business models are where they part. Cleo's paid plans bundle cash advances, a high-yield savings account through Thread Bank, and the Cleo Card through WebBank. Sprout earns from one thing, the Sprout Plus subscription. It offers no cash advances or loans, and its read-only connection means it cannot move a single dollar.

Cash advances and money movement

As of October 2026, Cleo's pricing page lists cash advances from US$20 to US$250 on its standard plans and up to US$500 on Builder, with eligibility rules and an express fee for same-day transfers. Cleo also says you can request a cash advance without subscribing. For someone a little short before payday, that option can matter.

Sprout takes the opposite stance. It cannot move money, transfer, pay bills, offer cash advances or loans, or make credit decisions. Its bank connection through Plaid is read-only, so it sees transactions and balances and nothing more. If you want an AI for understanding your spending that is kept entirely separate from borrowing, that line is the point.

There is also a regulatory history worth knowing. In March 2025 the FTC alleged that Cleo misled consumers about how much they could get in cash advances and how fast, and made subscriptions hard to cancel. Cleo agreed to pay US$17 million to resolve the allegations. The FTC's release is linked in the sources below.

Price, honestly

Cleo is cheaper per month. As of October 2026, Plus costs US$5.99 a month, Pro US$8.99, and Builder US$14.99, and some money features are free. Sprout Plus costs US$99.99 a year, which works out to about US$8.33 a month, or US$9.99 a week if you only want it for a short stretch.

What you pay for differs. Cleo's higher tiers add advance limits, savings, and the card. Sprout's one plan is about understanding your money: chat with receipts, subscriptions, cash flow, unusual charges, the daily habit, and Money Wrapped. Sprout's trial is 3 days on iPhone for eligible Apple accounts, and you can explore fictional sample data before connecting a bank.

Platforms and countries

Cleo's App Store listing is for iPhone, and Cleo is also on Android. There is no iPad or Mac version listed. Sprout runs on iPhone, iPad, the web, and as a native Mac app, so you can ask about last month's spending on a big screen. Sprout has no Android version, so Android users should look elsewhere.

Country support is a bigger gap. Cleo's website offers a US version and a UK version, and Canada is not among the options. Sprout supports eligible banks in the United States and Canada, keeps CAD and USD in their own currencies, and charges CA$129.99 a year in Canada. See Sprout for Canada.

The fun part, built on real numbers

Sprout makes checking in a habit. The daily Money Minute compares yesterday's spending with your usual day, shows your biggest purchase and the month's pace, and lists upcoming recurring charges. Streaks, streak freezes, and a Sprout pet that grows from a seed into an ancient oak reward you for showing up.

Then there is the Spending Roast: Sprout's honest, funny take on your last 30 days, where every line quotes a real number and praise lines keep it kind. Weekly and Monthly Money Wrapped stories recap your spending with share cards, and the money personality quiz tells you whether you are The Foodie or The Silent Saver.

Switching from Cleo to Sprout

Sprout cannot see or manage your Cleo account, so check Cleo's own steps for cancelling and for any open advance before you leave. You can set up Sprout first and run both apps for a while. Sprout's read-only connection never touches your money.

  1. Look at the sample data

    See how Sprout's answers, charts, and receipts work before you connect anything.

  2. Connect your accounts

    Link the banks and cards you use through Plaid, US or Canadian, and choose which ones Sprout reads.

  3. Ask what you asked Cleo

    Where did my money go this month? Which subscriptions renew next week? What was my biggest purchase?

  4. Make it daily

    Add a Home Screen widget, do the Money Minute, and start a streak.

Common questions

Sprout or Cleo? Your questions.

Is Cleo better than Sprout AI?

Cleo is the better choice if you want cash advances, savings, or a credit-builder card alongside an AI coach with voice. Sprout is the better choice if you want AI answers about your spending, with receipts, from an app that never lends or moves money, plus iPad, Mac, Canada, and Claude support.

Does Cleo work in Canada?

As of October 2026, Cleo's website offers US and UK versions and no Canadian option. Sprout connects to eligible Canadian banks through Plaid, keeps CAD and USD in their own currencies, and costs CA$129.99 a year in Canada.

Is there an app like Cleo without cash advances?

Yes. Sprout AI gives you the chat-with-your-money experience and keeps lending out of it entirely. It offers no cash advances or loans and cannot move money. You ask about your spending in plain English and every answer shows the accounts and dates behind it. Try the fictional sample data before you connect a bank.

Is Cleo worth it?

It depends on what you need. If you want small cash advances and qualify, Cleo's plans start at US$5.99 a month as of October 2026. If you mainly want to understand your spending, you are paying for products you may not use, and a read-only app like Sprout may fit better.

Does Sprout offer cash advances like Cleo?

No. Sprout does not offer cash advances, loans, savings accounts, or cards, and it cannot move money. It is an informational app that reads your transactions through a read-only Plaid connection and answers questions about them.

Can I use Cleo and Sprout together?

Yes, if you are in the US. Both connect to your bank, and Sprout's connection is read-only, so it never moves money. Some people use Cleo for its products and Sprout on iPad, Mac, or in Claude to understand where the money went.

Try the Cleo alternative that answers back.

Connect your accounts read-only, ask in plain English, and get the number with the receipts. 3 days free on iPhone if eligible.