Sprout AI vs PocketGuard

PocketGuard vs Sprout AI: budget guardrails or answers on demand?

PocketGuard tells you how much is left to spend and gives you budgets, goals, and a debt payoff plan, with a lifetime plan if you dislike renewals. Sprout skips budget setup and lets you ask about your money in plain English, with the accounts and dates behind every answer.

The verdict

Choose PocketGuard if you want a structured budget, a clear Leftover number, and the option to pay once with a $149.99 lifetime plan. Choose Sprout if you'd rather ask questions than maintain categories, want answers that show their accounts and dates, or want native iPad and Mac apps and Claude. PocketGuard costs less per year as of October 2026.

Sprout AI and PocketGuard, side by side. Competitor details from public sources checked 2026-10-13.
What mattersSprout AIPocketGuard
Price (as of October 2026)US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week; CA$129.99 per year in Canada$74.99 per year, $12.99 per month, or $149.99 once for lifetime access (USD)
Free trial3 days for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone7 days
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Mac, and the webThe web, iPhone, Apple Watch, and Android
Native Mac appYes, on the Mac App StoreNo; its App Store listing covers iPhone and Apple Watch
Canadian bank supportYes, eligible US and Canadian institutions through Plaid, with USD and CAD kept separateYes, banks in the US, Canada, and the UK
AI chat over your own dataYes, chat-first, with follow-up questions, charts, and tablesAI support agent (Quantra) for help requests; answers about your own transactions not stated
Answers show accounts and datesYes, every answer names the accounts and date range behind itNot stated
Budgeting and investing scopeAnswers budget questions from your real spending; no category budgets to maintain; no investingLeftover, zero-based, envelope, and 50/30/20 budgeting, rollovers, goals, and a debt payoff plan
Subscription trackingDetects recurring charges with estimated next dates, annual cost, and price changesRecurring bill and subscription tracking, with cancellation guidance
Money movement and add-on servicesNone. Read-only, with no bill lowering or cancellation serviceRead-only ("we never move your money"); optional bill lowering through partner Billshark, with no fee if nothing is saved
Claude and ChatGPTClaude plugin and remote MCP server today; ChatGPT app in review with OpenAINot stated
Sample data before connectingYes, explore fictional sample data firstNot stated

Choose Sprout AI if

  • You'd rather ask a question than build and maintain budget categories.
  • You want every answer to show the accounts and dates behind the number.
  • You use an iPad or Mac and want native apps there, plus widgets and a Live Activity on iPhone.
  • You want to ask about your money from Claude, with Sprout's ChatGPT app in review.
  • You like a daily nudge: the Money Minute, streaks, Wrapped, and Spending Roast.
Start the free trial

Choose PocketGuard if

  • You want a lifetime plan: $149.99 once instead of a yearly renewal.
  • You want a lower yearly price: $74.99 versus Sprout's US$99.99, as of October 2026.
  • You like a single Leftover number and structured budgets with rollovers, goals, and a debt payoff plan.
  • You want help lowering cell phone, cable, or Wi-Fi bills through Billshark, or you use Android or UK banks.

Two ways to stop overspending

PocketGuard is a guardrail. It takes your income, subtracts bills and goals, and shows what's left to spend, with budgeting methods from zero-based to 50/30/20 if you want more structure. That works well when the main thing you need is a number that tells you to slow down.

Sprout is a conversation. Instead of building categories, you ask: "How much did we spend on eating out this month compared with last month?" Sprout answers with the exact difference, calculated on its server from your transactions, and the accounts and dates it used. It suits people who want to understand their spending without keeping a budget up to date.

Price: PocketGuard costs less and offers lifetime access

As of October 2026, PocketGuard costs $74.99 per year, $12.99 per month, or $149.99 once for lifetime access, with a 7-day free trial. Sprout Plus costs US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week, and CA$129.99 per year in Canada, with a 3-day free trial for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone.

On price alone, PocketGuard wins, and its lifetime plan costs the same as two years of its annual plan. Sprout asks you to pay for what it does differently: AI answers over your own data, native iPad and Mac apps, and access from Claude. You can explore Sprout's fictional sample data before paying anything.

Budgets versus questions

If you like giving every dollar a category, PocketGuard gives you the tools: rollover budgets, custom categories, goals, and a debt payoff plan. Sprout doesn't do category envelopes or rollovers. It answers budget questions instead, from the spending you actually have.

That means asking things like "Am I spending more on groceries than last month?" or "What were my 10 biggest purchases since July?" and getting an answer you can check. The daily Money Minute on iPhone shows yesterday against your usual day and your month pace, so you see drift early without a budget to maintain. For the method, read how to budget without a budget.

AI: a support agent versus answers from your data

PocketGuard added an AI support agent called Quantra in July 2025. PocketGuard describes it as working well for basic requests and less helpful for complex questions, and you can skip it to reach human support. We didn't find a PocketGuard feature that answers questions about your own transactions in chat.

In Sprout, chat is the main way in. Ask about a merchant, a category, a date range, or an account, follow up, and compare periods. Answers can include charts and tables, and conversations are saved. You can also ask the same questions in Claude through Sprout's plugin or MCP server.

Canada, Mac, and bank connections

Both apps work in Canada. PocketGuard supports banks in the US, Canada, and the UK through Plaid, Finicity, and Salt Edge. Sprout connects eligible US and Canadian institutions through Plaid and keeps USD and CAD in their own currencies. As of September 3, 2026, PocketGuard's help center listed sync delays or connection problems with several large Canadian banks, including RBC, TD, BMO, CIBC, and Scotiabank. Connections change for every app, Sprout included, so test your own banks during a trial.

On Apple devices, PocketGuard's App Store listing covers iPhone and Apple Watch. Sprout runs natively on iPhone, iPad, and the Mac, with Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, StandBy, and a Live Activity for today's spending. PocketGuard also runs on Android, which Sprout doesn't.

Switching from PocketGuard to Sprout

You can run both apps side by side before you decide. Keep your PocketGuard budget running while Sprout reads the same accounts, then see whether asking questions tells you more than the Leftover number does. A week or two of normal spending gives you a fair comparison.

Sprout Plus renews automatically through Apple unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the end of the trial or period. Deleting your Sprout account doesn't cancel the Apple subscription, so manage it in your Apple account settings if you stop.

  1. Preview Sprout with sample data

    Explore the fictional sample data to see how answers and receipts look before you connect a bank.

  2. Start the 3-day trial

    Subscribe in the iPhone app. Apple confirms your price and whether your account qualifies for the trial.

  3. Connect your accounts

    Link the same banks and cards through Plaid. Pick only the accounts you want Sprout to read.

  4. Swap the Leftover check for a question

    Each week, ask "How does my spending this month compare with last month?", or check the Money Minute each morning.

  5. Settle your PocketGuard plan

    If you pay monthly or yearly, cancel PocketGuard where you subscribed before it renews. If you bought lifetime access, there is nothing to cancel.

Common questions

Sprout or PocketGuard? Your questions.

Is PocketGuard cheaper than Sprout?

Yes, as of October 2026. PocketGuard costs $74.99 per year, $12.99 per month, or $149.99 for lifetime access. Sprout Plus costs US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week. Sprout's price covers AI chat over your own data, native iPad and Mac apps, and Claude access.

Does PocketGuard have AI?

PocketGuard has an AI support agent, Quantra, for help requests. We didn't find an AI that answers questions about your own transactions. Sprout is built around that: ask in plain English and get totals with the accounts and dates behind them.

Does PocketGuard work in Canada?

Yes. PocketGuard supports banks in the US, Canada, and the UK. Its help center keeps a list of institutions with known sync issues, so check it for your bank. Sprout supports eligible US and Canadian institutions through Plaid. See Sprout in Canada.

Does PocketGuard lower bills? Does Sprout?

PocketGuard offers bill lowering through its partner Billshark for cell phone, cable, and Wi-Fi bills, with no fee if nothing is saved. Sprout doesn't lower bills or cancel subscriptions. It shows what's recurring, what it costs per year, and when prices change, and you act with the provider.

Does PocketGuard have a Mac or iPad app?

PocketGuard's App Store listing covers iPhone and Apple Watch, and it also runs on the web and Android. Sprout has native apps for iPhone, iPad, and the Mac App Store. See Sprout for Mac.

Is PocketGuard's lifetime plan worth it?

If you know you want a budgeting app for years, $149.99 once costs the same as two years of PocketGuard's annual plan, as of October 2026. Sprout has no lifetime option; it bills yearly or weekly through Apple.

Try the PocketGuard alternative that answers back.

Connect your accounts read-only, ask in plain English, and get the number with the receipts. 3 days free on iPhone if eligible.