Sprout AI vs Origin
Sprout AI vs Origin: which AI money app should you use?
Origin is an all-in-one finance membership for US users, with budgeting, investing, estate planning, and an AI Advisor. Sprout is a read-only AI that answers questions about your spending, cash flow, and subscriptions in the US and Canada, with the accounts and dates behind every number.
The verdict
Pick Origin if you live in the US and want one membership for budgeting, investing, estate planning, and an AI Advisor offered through an SEC-registered investment adviser. Pick Sprout if you want fast, checkable answers about where your money goes, bank in Canada, or want native iPhone, iPad, and Mac apps plus Claude. At list price, the two cost about the same per year.
| What matters | Sprout AI | Origin |
|---|---|---|
| Price (as of October 2026) | US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week; CA$129.99 per year in Canada | $99 per year or $12.99 per month; a limited-time offer gives new members their first year for $1 |
| Free trial | 3 days for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone | 7 days per its FAQ; its help center says the trial is unavailable while the $1 offer runs |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad, Mac, and the web | iPhone, iPad, Android, the web, and a Mac download |
| Native Mac app | Yes, on the Mac App Store | A Mac app downloaded from Origin's website (macOS 10.15 or later recommended); not listed for Mac on the App Store |
| Canadian bank support | Yes, eligible US and Canadian institutions through Plaid, with USD and CAD kept separate | Not stated; Origin says its app is currently US-only for mobile |
| AI chat over your own data | Yes, chat-first, with follow-up questions, charts, and tables | Yes, the AI Advisor answers questions using your connected financial data |
| Answers show accounts and dates | Yes, every answer names the accounts and date range behind it | Not stated |
| Budgeting and investing scope | Spending, cash flow, period comparisons, subscriptions, and unusual charges; no investing | Budgets, spending, cash flow, investing, forecasting, estate planning, and partner access |
| Subscription tracking | Detects recurring charges with estimated next dates, annual cost, and price changes | Tracks subscriptions and bills |
| Money movement, cash accounts, and advice | None. Read-only, and Sprout sells no investments, cash accounts, or advice | Investment accounts (custodian DriveWealth), a high-yield cash account, and Certified Financial Planner sessions at $119 each |
| Claude and ChatGPT | Claude plugin and remote MCP server today; ChatGPT app in review with OpenAI | Not stated |
| Sample data before connecting | Yes, explore fictional sample data first | Not stated |
Choose Sprout AI if
- You bank in Canada, or in both the US and Canada, and want USD and CAD kept in their own currencies.
- You want answers you can check: every Sprout reply names the accounts and dates it used.
- You want a native Mac app from the Mac App Store next to iPhone and iPad, with widgets and a Live Activity for today's spending.
- You'd like to ask the same questions inside Claude, with Sprout's ChatGPT app in review.
- You want an AI that reads your accounts and never moves money, sells investments, or opens accounts.
Choose Origin if
- You live in the US and want budgeting, investing, and estate planning in one membership.
- You want personalized guidance from an AI Advisor offered through an SEC-registered investment adviser, plus optional $119 sessions with a Certified Financial Planner.
- You manage money with a partner: Origin includes partner access at no additional cost.
- You want the $1 first-year offer while it runs, or you use Android.
Origin vs Sprout in one minute
Origin and Sprout both put AI on top of your connected accounts, but they aim at different jobs. Origin is a full financial membership for US households: budgets, investing, forecasting, estate planning, partner sharing, and an AI Advisor that gives personalized guidance. Sprout does one job and goes deep on it. It answers questions about your own spending, cash flow, subscriptions, and odd charges, read-only.
So the real question is what you want the app to do. If you want one place to plan, invest, and get advice, Origin is built for that. If you want to ask "what did we spend on takeout since June?" and get a total like $612.40 with the accounts and dates listed underneath, Sprout is the faster fit, especially in Canada or on a Mac.
Price and free trial as of October 2026
At list price the two cost about the same. Origin lists $99 per year or $12.99 per month, and a limited-time offer gives new members their first year for $1 before renewing at the standard annual rate. Sprout Plus is US$99.99 per year or US$9.99 per week, and CA$129.99 per year in Canada. Sprout bills yearly or weekly, through Apple.
Trials differ. Origin's FAQ lists a 7-day free trial, though its help center says the trial is unavailable while the $1 offer runs. Sprout offers a 3-day free trial for eligible Apple accounts on iPhone, and you can explore fictional sample data before you connect a single bank, so you can see what answers look like first.
AI Advisor versus answers with receipts
Origin's AI Advisor is designed to give advice. Origin markets it as an AI financial advisor regulated by the SEC, with advisory services provided through Origin Investment Advisory, LLC, an SEC-registered investment adviser. You complete a suitability questionnaire before it gives personalized advice, and it takes on big questions, such as whether you can afford an apartment in the city.
Sprout takes a narrower, more checkable approach. It is informational and does not give financial, investment, or tax advice. Ask how your dining spend in September compared with August and Sprout returns the exact change and percentage, calculated on Sprout's server from your transactions, then names the accounts and date range it used. You can check every number against your own statements.
Canada, Mac, and where each app runs
Origin says its app is currently US-only for mobile, and that international mobile support is on its roadmap without a timeline. Origin runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, and the web, and offers a Mac app you download from its own website. Its App Store listing doesn't include Mac.
Sprout connects eligible banks in the United States and Canada through Plaid and keeps USD and CAD in their original currencies instead of converting them. It runs on iPhone, iPad, the web, and the Mac through the Mac App Store. On iPhone you also get Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, a Live Activity for today's spending, and Siri and Shortcuts actions.
You can also ask from an AI assistant you already use. Sprout publishes a Claude plugin and a remote MCP server with OAuth sign-in, and its ChatGPT app is in review with OpenAI. Origin doesn't state a Claude or ChatGPT integration on the pages we checked. See Sprout for Claude for setup.
Investing and cash accounts versus read-only
Origin can hold your money. It offers investment accounts with DriveWealth as custodian, a high-yield cash account held through program banks, estate planning, and sessions with a Certified Financial Planner at $119 each. For people who want all of that under one login, the bundle is a genuine convenience.
Sprout stays read-only. It cannot move money, place trades, open accounts, or offer loans or cash advances, and it doesn't sell investment products. Plaid runs your bank sign-in, so Sprout never sees or stores your banking password. If you want an AI that only reads your accounts, that boundary is the point. Read more on the security page.
Switching from Origin to Sprout
You can test Sprout before you change anything at Origin. Your Origin membership, investment accounts, and cash account keep running while you try Sprout, and both apps can read the same bank through Plaid at the same time, so nothing changes on the Origin side.
Keep the test simple: pick three questions you actually care about, such as last month's dining total or which subscriptions renew soon, and see whether asking gets you to the answer faster than browsing budgets. Here is the short path.
Look around with sample data
Open Sprout and explore the fictional sample data to see how answers, charts, and receipts look before you connect a bank.
Start Sprout Plus on iPhone
Subscribe in the iPhone app. Eligible Apple accounts get a 3-day free trial, and Apple confirms your local price.
Connect the same accounts
Link your checking, savings, and credit cards through Plaid. You choose exactly which accounts Sprout can read, and you can disconnect them later.
Ask the questions you used to look up
Try "What did I spend on groceries last month?" or "Which subscriptions renew in the next 30 days?" and compare the answers with what you see in Origin.
Decide what to keep
If you hold Origin investment or cash accounts, check Origin's help center before you cancel anything. You can keep investing where you are and use Sprout for everyday money questions.
Common questions
Sprout or Origin? Your questions.
Is Origin cheaper than Sprout?
At list price they're close: Origin is $99 per year and Sprout Plus is US$99.99 per year, as of October 2026. Origin's limited-time offer gives new members the first year for $1, which makes it cheaper in year one. Origin also sells month-to-month access at $12.99, while Sprout bills yearly or weekly.
Does Origin work in Canada?
Origin says its app is currently US-only for mobile, with international support on the roadmap and no timeline. Sprout connects eligible banks in the US and Canada through Plaid and costs CA$129.99 per year in Canada. See Sprout in Canada.
Is Origin's AI Advisor financial advice?
Origin positions its AI Advisor as advice: personalized guidance offered through Origin Investment Advisory, LLC, an SEC-registered investment adviser, after you complete a suitability questionnaire. Sprout is informational. It answers questions about your own transactions and does not give financial, investment, tax, or legal advice.
Can I use Origin and Sprout together?
Yes. Both can link accounts through Plaid, so you can connect the same bank to each. You could use Origin for investing and planning and Sprout for quick spending, subscription, and cash-flow questions on iPhone, Mac, or in Claude.
Does Origin have a Mac app?
Origin offers a Mac app you download from its website, with macOS Catalina 10.15 or later recommended, and it isn't listed for Mac on the App Store. Sprout is on the Mac App Store, alongside iPhone, iPad, and the web. See Sprout for Mac.
Can Sprout invest my money or open a savings account?
No. Sprout is read-only and can't move money, place trades, or open accounts. If you want investing and a cash account inside your money app, Origin offers both. If you want an AI that reads your accounts and never touches them, Sprout is built that way.
More comparisons
See how Sprout stacks up.
- ComparisonSprout AI vs EmpowerEmpower's dashboard is free and built for net worth and retirement. Sprout is a paid AI that answers everyday spending questions, US and Canada.
- ComparisonSprout AI vs Monarch MoneySame annual price, different jobs: Monarch plans budgets with your partner, Sprout answers your money questions with receipts.
- ComparisonSprout AI vs Copilot MoneyBoth are Apple-native. Copilot polishes budgets for US accounts; Sprout answers questions about US and Canadian accounts.
- FeatureAsk your money anything. Get answers you can check.Ask anything about your money in plain English and get answers with the accounts and dates behind them.
- Who it's forThe budget app that speaks Canadian dollars.An AI budget app for Canadians: connect eligible Canadian accounts through Plaid, keep CAD in CAD, and ask anything.
- PlatformBig money questions deserve a big screen.A bigger screen for deeper money questions, with charts, tables, and the same account as your iPhone.
Try the Origin alternative that answers back.
Connect your accounts read-only, ask in plain English, and get the number with the receipts. 3 days free on iPhone if eligible.
